Building A Forum

chibineku

I've set myself the task of building a forum. By the time I can do that, I reckon I'll be able to do most anything that a web designer is required to do (or at least have the confidence in my own ability to learn). But it's a pretty daunting task. Has anyone here made one? If so, where did you start and do you have any pointers for direction?I notice when navigating around this forum that every page is some kind of extension of index.php, and on a brief look at the source, every element, even loading pages, seem to be coded into index.php. Which begs the question, how many actual pages are there? Do the php pages just adjust the content of the one index page? I am brand new to php, so the learning curve there will be the steepest, that and databases. I have enormous books on them though...reassuringly, terrifyingly, enormous.

I did make one once, but it was pretty difficult to manage and the code was a little too encrusted with the presentation. But that was a long time ago. I could do a much better job if I set out to make one now.Depending on how the forum is built, it can all be using one page, or it can use several. Basically all of them have a template system, in which they extract the HTML from separate files and then add the dynamic information where necessary.But forums are really complex applications. If you're new to PHP I do not recommend trying to build one. Try making a guestbook or a simple user login system instead.

A single 'index.php' page is quite common using server-side scripting. Inside the index page there would be a logic trap of some sort to determine the contents to display on the page based on the values found in the 'Query string', like index.php?p=about&t=web could display the web-design background for a user. Here is the code from a 'modular' design for a single php page: