Xml User Database | Setting Attributes

mobone

I joined to ask how to set attributes in a xml file using simplexml in php. Not add them but change the values that are already there. I believe there is a way in DOM but I am using simplexml right now.I'm really new at this and am really confused with how this all works but trying to get it down. How should my user database be set up? i was using attributes like:<user name="frank" password="anything"><stuff /></user>But now I'm thinking of changing it to:<user><frank><password>anything</password><stuff /></frank></user>Then I can use "$xml->users->frank->stuff = $more_stuff" to easily change the values as I have given up on changing the attributes now.Or should I make a new xml file for each user? I know for sure I wont have more than 1000k users.Does anyone have any really good simplexml resources besides the short and overly-simple php page on it.Should I just give up on simplexml and learn DOM instead??Thanks for any help. Sorry there isn't any indents, I tried.

I'm not real great with XML, and I'll try to answer your question if I don't see others doing it, but one thing I'll say is not to use a value as an element name. It's going to be complicated if you name an element with the user's name. It would be better to have a username element and give the name there. e.g.:

<user>  <username>frank</username>  <password>anything</password>  <stuff /></user>

or:

<user name="frank">  <password>anything</password>  <stuff /></user>

For indenting put everything in a code block, the word "code" in square brackets without spaces. Maybe this will print:[ code][/code]That, minus the space. If you want a scrollbar, use codebox instead.