Looking For Direction

kiddbid

Hello,First, let me say thank you to the hosts of this site. You have made something (web design) that to me seemed mysterious and almost magical a great deal clearer. Secondly, allow me apologize if this is in the wrong section; part of my question involves not knowing exactly what to ask.I work in education and have an idea for a related website that I am trying to create. I've read some tutorials, including the ones on this site, about html and css and they really opened my eyes as to how web pages are presented. I was hoping if I described my idea, someone could suggest to me what skills I need to gain an expertise in. Here goes:The idea might be most similar to a dating website. A Group 1 (high schools for example) member creates a profile using a simple questionnaire form. Group 2 (middle schools or universities) members may view the profile and uploaded file. The whole idea is to create a simple area for schools to exchange info about themselves. Group 3 (public) members have limited viewing rights but may join for a fee to gain full viewing rights.Group 1, which will number approximately 20,000, are the main account holders. They have the ability to create a simple standardized page which will be populated by a form that they fill out upon registration. They will have the ability to upload a single 200KB? PDF file. They will have the option of keeping some information viewable only to other Group 1 and 2 account holders. Creating an account is free but unique user names and passwords are required to sign in.Group 2, which may number between 2,000 and 30,000, must register to gain full viewing rights and download capability of any Group 1 page and PDF file. There must be a simple way to validate whether Group 2 members are actual members of an academic institution. I was thinking of doing it manually but that is probably because of my ignorance.Group 3 (public viewers), which may number between 1,000,000 and 5,000,000, will hav