Form Verification Using Javascript

emmaclarke

Hi AllI'm trying to do form verification using a postcode. The postcode must be either: Postal code: AB12 12AB (any two letters followed by any two numbers followed by any two numbers followed by any two letters) or AB1 2AB (any two letters followed by a single number then any single number followed by two letters).The first verification works fine but i'm not sure how to do the second verification. The first pattern works but it ignores the second pattern, it probably isn't the right syntax for it.

<!-- \s* means optional space. \w+ means one or more alphanumeric chars-->  <!-- \d{5} means exactly five digits -->  zipcode: <input type="text" name="zip" pattern="\w+\w+\d{2}\s*\d{2}\w+\w+" pattern="\w+\w+\d{1}\s*\d{1}\w+\w+"><br>

I am a noob when it comes to regex, but why are you stating pattern="~" twice? Shouldn't they be merged?

pattern isn't a valid attribute for the input element in HTML or XHTML. You should use Javascript, and a server-siade language, to verify the information.

It is using validate.js which incorporates a pattern attribute in the input element