"what Do I Need To Learn In Order To Do This" Topic

Guest Werdna

Guest Werdna

Hey I'm pretty new to a lot of things. Let's just say I know next to nothing outside of what I learned in high school. My brother wants me to make him a website, and I figure I'll use the creation of it as a 'learn as i go' kind of thing because this is something I'm interested in. Also I want to learn this stuff so I can make my band a website (which I assume will be much simpler than this project).So just let me know what programs I'll need, and what languages and such I'll need to get familiar with. Thanks in advance, and sorry if this is long.So here's the "things he wants" list.Well...in summary it's kind of a 'what's going on' website for our area...telling about bars and events and stuff for the week/weekend, stuff like that...so some of these things will be obvious.- A way for visitors to rate and review each bar/venue.- I want the bars/venues to be searchable/filterable (with things such as "happy hour" "live music" etc- A map with pinpoints that you can click on to filter by area, or to just click on the pinpoint and look at the place (it's a big city, so it's not as excessive as it sounds)- Incorporate google maps in some way to give the 'street view' of the place as well as the overhead view (so people can find places better, and of course see what they look like)- I'm guessing I'd have to have some kind of database going on for the search functions to work, and also it would be helpful just to organize things. So if you can, let me know how to incorporate/maintain a databaseI'm not asking for step-by-step instructions, because that would be ridiculous. I just want to know what I'll have to learn to make this happen, and what the best tools/applications/programs/whatever are to use to make this.I have a little bit of dreamweaver experience and some EXTREMELY basic programming experience.I'm willing to learn this stuff, but an estimate on how difficult this is going to be wou