Layering Problem In Ie

gmoney7771

Hello-I just redesigned our website, www.vernalcity.org. On our main page, I included a weather gadget that I thought would be pretty handy. The problem I have is when you try to access the drop down menu close to the weather gadget, the weather gadget stays on top of the menu, making the menu unable to see. This only happens in IE, Firefox works fine. Is there a way that I can code it to make it work in IE? Any suggestions would be very helpful.P.S. I am a very inexperienced web designer, so I just used Fireworks to create the drop down menu and edit my websites in Dreamweaver.

I tried it in my default browser (Chrome) and IE and I don't see any layering problems. Have you fixed it?This kind of problem is easily solved by changing the z-index in css. I think the default z-index for an element is always 1. So if you wanted your menu/dropdown menus to be above all the other content you would use this-z-index: 2; (or 100, whatever you want).You can also go backwards,z-index: -23442;

This is the problem I am getting in IE.LayerProblem.jpgI will have to try the those z values and see if that helps me. Thanks for the feedback.Edit: Learned more about the z values and fixed it. Made my nav bar position relative with a z value of 1. Thanks again MrFish for the guidance.

• 3 weeks later...