Help Learning Php

tonymurray

I am just beginning with learning PHP and web development. I bought myself a copy of 'Beginning PHP & MySQL' to work my way through, but I've run into a problem which the book doesn't seem to answer and I can't find anywhere else.I'm guessing it's in the settings for PHP, but I'm not sure.When I output code in both html and PHP, the PHP bit shows up like it should but no html?EG.<html><head><title><?php echo "Welcome to my Web Site!";?></title></head><body><?php$date = "July 26, 2007";?><p>Today's date is <?=$date;?></p></body></html>When I open this in firefox all I get is 'Today's date is'. Nothing else shows up. (the above example is straight out of the book, so I assume that it's correct).Any help with this would be very much appreciated. Like I said, I'm very new to this, so it may be something extremely simple.Thanks,Tony

PHP will only execute on a server that has PHP enabled, and only if it has a .php extension.
It's on a local host which was setup as the book instructed. The file was saved as a .php extension.Other examples have worked with php, but this one is not showing the html part.

If you want to display text you need to use echo. Also <? did not work so i used <?php instead.

<html><head><title><?php echo "Welcome to my Web Site!";?></title></head><body><?php$date = "July 26, 2007";?><p>Today's date is <?php echo $date; ?></p></body></html>

If you want to display text you need to use echo. Also <? did not work so i used <?php instead.
<html><head><title><?php echo "Welcome to my Web Site!";?></title></head><body><?php$date = "July 26, 2007";?><p>Today's date is <?php echo $date; ?></p></body></html>

Thanks,But it does exactly the same thing. No change at all on screen.I would be very surprised if the book was released with incorrect code, so I'm still thinking its in the settings or an error in the php.ini file ???