Getting Back To A Page From .php File

creacon

I've been a programmer for 50 years, but am new to web programming (yeah, I'm a dinosaur), but I'm trying to get into the 21st century. I'd certainly appreciate any help with this problem.I'm trying to design an employment questionnaire that consists of a set of pages of questions, with the first page being a form for the entry of the applicant's personal information. Upon "submit"ing, the form posts the data and calls a.php file to process it (i.e. insert records into a mySQL database). This part works fine, and the .php code is executed correctly. The problem is that then I need to send part of the data (the applicant's name) to a field at the top of the next page of the questionnaire and invoke that page, but I can't figure out how to do that. Once the .php file is invoked no further action takes place; I get the "echo" response that I included for testing purposes (ie to prove that the code was executed), but that's as far as the thing goes.I've researched till I'm blue in the face (several books and w3cschools' website) but nowhere have I found an answer. SURELY this must be possible somehow! The books and website tell me very clearly how to invoke the .php code, but fall short of explaining how to get back from it.

You can also have the page that processes the first form display the second.