Payment Provider Integration

chibineku

Payment Provider Preference  

1 member has voted

1. 1. Which would you rather see/happen when checking out?

• Pay on site with no mention of provider
    • Pay on a branded site via WorldPay
    • Pay on a non-branded site via WorldPay
    • Pay on a branded site via Nochex
    • Pay on a non-branded site via Nochex
    • Redirect to PayPal
    • Other provider - please provide details

I am at the point in creating my first eCommerce site (actually, first real site full stop) where I have to start thinking about payment provider integration. We haven't yet set up a bank account for the company, so there is a lot of flexibility at the moment. What names do you like seeing the most? Do I need a real bank account before I can start integration and dummy transactions? I've never done this before and it's crucial to create the right setup so people trust the site, so everyone's info is safe, and so that we don't get ripped off for transaction fees. Any advice is welcome.

Its a tough question to answer because it's different for so many people. I, for one, rarely make any online transactions - I'd rather call or send a check.But, first, you need to identify your audience and guess or survey what they would prefer. Also, you will need to look at how much your typical transaction is going to cost - and does it involve shipping. Then, if you are a new site I think the best way to go is to use a seamless payment system and simply mention (rather obviously) your SSL provider. I think the backend processing is less important to disclose because most users won't know one from the other - in fact I would argue that most user barely know about the significance of SSL - and even would lump the SSL part and the fullfillment together (not knowing any better).So, get a good SSL certificate from a well know provider and put their little (protected by) icons on your transaction pages because that's what most will associate comfort/fear with.