Are These Php Scripts Correct?

Norman

I'm studying these series of articles: http://www.intranetjournal.com/articles/20..._07_06_04a.html. And I was asking myself, about the PHP code.. (those articles are dated 2004), if is there some deprecated codes. Can you please help me? Also, I don't know if is possible that something has changed in PHP over the years.. like in HTML (<br /> instead of <br>, <strong> instead of <b>, etc.).

There is a new doctype for XHTML which stands for eXtensible HTML. Many tags are deprecated now, such as the use of <b>. The emphasis is on functional, semantic tags, styled and manipulated externally, to separate the markup from the style and functionality. Tags like <em> and <strong> are still around, because they lend meaning. If you want to make something bold just for aesthetic value, wrap it in a <span> and style the span - using a CSS class, preferably. Singleton instances, particularly as generated by a server side script, are still often styled inline, because it's more work to go and create a class in a separate document. There are also no open ended tags anymore. A <br> is now closed - <br />. This goes for images, hr, inputs...anything with an implied closing tag now ends /> to make it explicit. I don't know what has changed in PHP/JavaScript, as I've only learned on the latest versions.

Some of the things they do are a little old-fashioned.When they create the classes with properties and a constructor, instead of doing it this way:

class DbConnector extends SystemComponent {var $theQuery;var $link;//*** Function: DbConnector, Purpose: Connect to the database ***function DbConnector(){

It should be done like this:

class DbConnector extends SystemComponent {public $theQuery;public $link;//*** Function: DbConnector, Purpose: Connect to the database ***function __construct(){