Critweeks On Site Layout And Design(color, Shapes, Buttons, Etc)

daring_du

Hi,adopt-a-patient.110mb.comConstructive critique-isms please. I'm not too good at color coding so if there are any suggestions for making the color nicer let me know.Almost any other comments welcome, too. I'm still doing a fair bit of tweaking as well. I want to put a hit counter on there and then eventually use some PHP (or something like that) to put a clock on the site that always shows the current time in Kenya;probably something like adding 8 hours to whatever the time is at 110mb (assuming 110mb is in America). Is that possible?I've also got a lot of tweaking plans for the design and some javascript and more css stuff but for now I'd like to get some feedback on what's already there.Thanks.

I haven't looked at the code. I write purely from a visual perspective.Generally, it's catchy and looks good.The background is maybe overwhelming. I rarely see such extensive use of background patterns these days. It's a 1990s concept. Experienced designers are more likely to use a simple, light color, or a very muted texture.The graphics are very jaggy, especially the welcome graphic. That's just a matter of learning your PhotoShop tools a little better. Since it's all on a white background, I don't think you need to save your files as .png format, but you can still anti-alias against a white background and include some of that white as part of the image.No one likes blinking text. Also very 1990s.I don't think this looks the way you want it:thing.jpgYou'll need your inner techno-geek to fix that, I'm afraid.

I would agree with DD and yourself on the coloring. Seems bubbly and 90's, if that makes sense. Too many clashing colors, see if you can find a theme, with two or three strong colors, with maybe a couple of softer colors to balance things out.