To Shorthand Or Not To Shorthand,

SamuelMSr

Ok so I am learning quite a bit about CSS, and let me tell you this is FRIGGIN AWESOME! I am having a blast.So here it is, I am reading more then one book and talking to people and doing a lot of different things to learn as I find this is better then just one source, and I am getting conflicting advice.Some say to never use shorthand, that it may take longer to put each rule on its own line but later it can make changes easier and if anyone else has to read it they may find it easier.Others are saying to ALWAYS use shorthand and make quicker work of it all.What is your opinion. I personally dont mind doing each rule on its own line as I find it easier to see what I have done, especially since I am extremely new to all this.Any advice is welcome, just would like to hear the input you guys have on this subject.Thanks!!Sam

I don't think I shorthand. For some reason I like tracking it all individually, line by line. Although I supposed some would counter that not short handing adds extra lines of code, but in this case since CSS is just interpreted text, (nothing as complicated as what I would have to code for work, hah!) I don't think its that big of deal, and its fun to be verbose sometimes, haha. But yeah, it'll get cached anyway, so it doesn't bother me.'

Use shorthand properties, but UNDERSTAND them first.When you use the shorthand method, you must keep in mind that everything that you did not explicitly set will be reset to the default value!.Often people come here saying their background image isn't working, or their border isn't displaying. Here's the code, can you see the mistake?

background-image: url(file.jpg);background: green;

border-style: solid;border: 3px red;

Anything that reduces the amount of code whilst performing the same overall function can only be a good thing.