Question About Horizontal Menu

solar

w3schools site has top menu with some items sticking to the left side and some to the right. i studied page's code and could see that they made the menu using tables. the space between left side and right side td's is basically one td containing &nbsp.my question, which i couldn't figure out from the page's html and css, is how did they make the non-breaking space td stretch between left and right, basically fitting the remaining space?the code is this:

<tr style="height:20px"><td class="blacknav" style="border-left:none" width="50"><a class="m_item" href="/default.asp">HOME</a></td><td class="blacknav" width="50"><a class="m_item" href="/html/default.asp" target="_top">HTML</a></td><td class="blacknav" width="40"><a class="m_item" href="/css/default.asp" target="_top">CSS</a></td><td class="blacknav" width="40"><a class="m_item" href="/xml/default.asp" target="_top">XML</a></td><td class="blacknav" width="90"><a class="m_item" href="/js/default.asp" target="_top">JAVASCRIPT</a></td><td class="blacknav" width="40"><a class="m_item" href="/asp/default.asp" target="_top">ASP</a></td><td class="blacknav" width="40"><a class="m_item" href="/php/default.asp" target="_top">PHP</a></td><td class="blacknav" width="40"><a class="m_item" href="/sql/default.asp" target="_top">SQL</a></td><td class="blacknav" width="60"><a class="m_item" href="/sitemap/sitemap_tutorials.asp" target="_top">MORE...</a></td><td class="blacknav"> </td><td class="blacknav" width="80"><a class="m_item" href="/sitemap/sitemap_references.asp" target="_top">References</a></td><td class="blacknav" width="70"><a class="m_item" href="/sitemap/sitemap_examples.asp" target="_top">Examples</a></td><td class="blacknav" width="50"><a class="m_item" href="/forum/default.asp" target="_blank">Forum</a></td><td class="blacknav" style="border-right:none" width="50"><a class="m_item" href="/about/default.asp" target="_top">About</a></td></tr>