Classes/career Advice?

mike60640

Hello all,Not sure where to post this, but this seems the best forum for these questions. I'm looking for advice from those working in the world of web development on where to focus from here.I worked in a commercial photography studio for the last 22 years (retoucher, management, all the tech management as well) and now find myself looking for work. Retouching work is hard to find and because photographers are looking for work, they are also taking retouching work. As well as there is less of it to be had.I have lots of experience in graphics, digital images, art direction, and logical/technical thinking. But I think i need to move in more of a web focused career building on what i already know. I did old frame based web design a long time ago, and have started to learn clean css/xhtml design.My questions are this....What web areas would you recommend I focus on? CSS, Flash, PHP, etc...What technologies are hotter in web design or going to be?Are certificates/diplomas that valued when hiring? (in photography it never mattered, it was always about your book) If so, what are they? I have no idea what's available.I guess that's enough broad questions for now. Thanks for any feedback.

I would definitely focus on CSS/HTML. Since you have good digital media skills, you should probably try your hand at Flash; that's not something everyone can do well, or least in the same amount of time it can take to get a handle on the basics of CSS/HTML. I think playing on your skills as a designer will really compliment your technical skills as your progress. Best best is to just start making sites and see what you come up with and what people think of it. A good portfolio says a lot in this industry.Peeking into the PHP tutorials in some time could be helpful too if you want to start adding more dynamic content to your site, say in the shape of image galleries and the such, or other content delivery mechanisms.