Margin And Padding, In Theory?

MGmirkin

So, I'm relatively new to CSS, taught myself in a weekend a couple weeks ago, but am having some implementation problems... Who isn't? :) And can you help?Here's the code I'm working with in one of the "Try It Now" boxes from the CSS tutorial:

<html><head><style type="text/css">body { margin:0px; padding:10px;}div.container { width:100%; margin:0px; padding:0px; border:1px solid gray; line-height:125%;}div.header,div.footer { width:100% padding:5px; color:white; background-color:gray; clear:both; text-align:center;}div.left { float:left; width:40%; margin:0; /*padding:5px;*/}div.content { float:left; width:60%; /*border-left:1px solid gray;*/ /*padding:5px;*/}h1.header { padding:5px; margin:0px;}</style></head><body><div class="container"><div class="header"><h1 class="header">W3Schools.com</h1></div><div class="left"><p>"Never increase, beyond what is necessary, the number of entities required to explain anything." William of Ockham (1285-1349)</p></div><div class="content"><h2>Free Web Building Tutorials</h2><p>At W3Schools you will find all the Web-building tutorials you need,from basic HTML and XHTML to advanced XML, XSL, Multimedia and WAP.</p><p>W3Schools - The Largest Web Developers Site On The Net!</p></div><div class="footer">Copyright 1999-2005 by Refsnes Data.</div></div></body></html>