Need Advice (transitioning From Print Design To Web Design)

metalmaiden

Hello-I'm a creative professional with 15+ years in print design, branding, and communications. Like others, I find myself displaced by the recession and am trying to update my skills in order to secure a new position. Many have suggested gaining skills in web design and multimedia (e.g., XHTML, CSS, Flash, Javascript, SEO). I contacted a number of schools in my area, but none offered any kind of continuing education, only degree programs, so I looked into alternatives and was referred to online training. Being relatively new to this technology and more of a right-brain learner/thinker than a left-brain learner/thinker, where would one recommend I begin in terms of gaining the skills needed to design and build websites with all of today's "eye candy" (e.g., audio, video, animation)? Is there a study plan I can follow, preferably one with visual aids and/or interaction with an instructor?Any advice appreciated. (I've totally struck out with the colleges and tech schools.)Thanks.\mm/

Frankly, it's going to be difficult to pick up all of the skills necessary to create web sites or web applications quickly without a formal education course. Even with formal education you can expect to study for a few years before you're ready to go into a career, there's just a lot to learn (HTML and CSS could take up a couple courses, and Javascript, Flash, databases and PHP each could require several courses to learn everything you need to know). There is a lot of information online, and there are a lot of books available, but it's pretty difficult to replace actual interaction with a teacher who knows what they're talking about.