<DIV>

mrkidd85

im having a nightmare trying to divide my page. firstly, I used<div id=layer1 style="position:absolute; top:20; left:00; width:25%; height:80%; padding:5px; border: #000000 2px dotted; background-color:#ffffff;></DIV> for the first part of my page, then when I completed that I did this<div id=layer1 style="position:absolute; top:20; left:30%; width:50%; height:80%; padding:5px; border: #000000 2px dotted; background-color:#ffffff;>, but all it does is underlaps the other one. does anyone know what I'm doing wrong??

firstly you cannot give both divs the same id...id is unique.You are using absolute positioning which acts as layers. You set the top and left to very similar of the first div so of course they will overlap.Avoid using absolute postioing unless completely necesaary.

well im not really that good at HTML, I'm just a beginner really, could you tell me of a better way to do it because i copied and pasted this code off a beginner's website.

You will have to tell me what you are trying to do with those divs. Do you want them side by side or one on top of the other?

try something like this

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-strict.dtd"><html><head>	<title>Your Title Here</title>	<style type="text/css">		#wrapper		{			width: 780px;			margin: auto; /*centers site...remove if you do not want it centered*/		}		.paneLeft		{                                                width: 150px;			float: left;		}		.paneRight		{                                                width: 630px			float: left;		}		.clearer		{			clear: left; /*needed for FireFox so both columns will stay in the wrapper*/		}	</style></head><body>	<div id="wrapper">		<div class="paneLeft">			...place menu here...		</div>		<div class="paneRight">			...place content here...		</div>		<br class="clearer"/>	</div></body></html>