Not stopping?

Twango

I'm new to flash, i use CS5, and i have a problem.... i simply want to click on somthing i drew to make it stop.... sounds simple? right?Nope.I cant get it to work! heres the code i have:Buttonit.addEventListener(MouseEvent.CLICK, fl_ClickToStop);function fl_ClickToStop(event:MouseEvent):void{ stop();}What am i doing wrong?!?!?!?? please help :)

Hi!Try This Code:You could add a test inside the playChimes function to see whatstatus.text is.If the chimes are off, turn them on, and if they're on, turn them off.If we use status.text for our test, we don't need the chimesStatus Boolean(unless you're using that for something else as well).AS3.0 Example 1:

import flash.media.Sound;import flash.media.SoundChannel;status.text = "Chimes Off";playButton.addEventListener(MouseEvent.MOUSE_DOWN, playChimes);// declare chimesSound here, so it's within scope of the else part of our // conditional statementvar chimesSound:SoundChannel; function playChimes(e:MouseEvent):void{  if(status.text == "Chimes Off") // chimes are off, so turn them on  {	var chimes:Chimes = new Chimes();	chimesSound = chimes.play();	status.text = "Chimes On";	var chimesStatus:Boolean = true;  // ? maybe don't need this if we're using status.text in our test	trace ("Playing!");  }  else // chimes are on, so turn them off  {	chimesSound.stop();           status.text = "Chimes Off";  }}

Another Example:You will need to create two buttons one that will be your play/pause button and another that that will be your stop button. Also be sure to define the path of the sound file.AS3.0 Example 2: