Filtering xml for xslt through query string variable

Guest mnli19

Guest mnli19

I am working on a web site where I click on a link and it will navigate to a detail page to show the detail information related to the link. I have created the detail page using a xslt template and all contents in the detail page are comming from a xml file.To filter out only the relevant data from xml, I thought of passing a variable through query string and declare it as a xslt parameter in the detail xslt page. But I have no idea whether there is a way to pass variables through query string to the xslt page.I am new to xslt so It is greatly appreciated if someone can tell how this can be done or whether there is another easy way to do this?

Assuming you run the XSLT transformation server-side with some code (e.g. ASP.NET or PHP or JSP or another server-side technology) then read out the query string as usually done with that server-side language/framework, then define a global parameter with xsl: param in your stylesheet and set that parameter before you run the transformation. How you do that depends entirely on the API your XSLT processor exposes.

• 5 months later...
Assuming you run the XSLT transformation server-side with some code (e.g. ASP.NET or PHP or JSP or another server-side technology) then read out the query string as usually done with that server-side language/framework, then define a global parameter with xsl: param in your stylesheet and set that parameter before you run the transformation. How you do that depends entirely on the API your XSLT processor exposes.