using a variable in a mysql query?

toxicityj

How do you use a variable in a mysql query? here's what I got

//connection crap here$del = $_POST[delete];mysql_query("DELETE FROM roster WHERE id='?????????'");

What would i put in place of my question marks to have it delete entries with the dynamically listed ID, which is acquired via $_POST ?Hope I make sense!Thanks.edit- I've tried just dumping the following in there and none of them worked-$_POST[delete]$del

I'm not too focused on security at the moment. I'm very new to this stuff and more worried about making stuff work. What I'm working on right now is just a simple roster and content management system for my World of Wacraft guild website so security isn't a huge issue. I do, however, have all of the stuff that deals with writing to the database in a password protected directory just in case. I do plan to eventually learn how to make things more secure though.

Stop doing that right NOW!Security is not something to be "bolted on" to something. You need to learn about the different security threats as they interfere with what you're doing.There are many things you don't need to worry about, but MySQL injection isn't one of them.How much of a pain is to just learn to use:

$del = mysql_real_escape_string($_GET['delete']);mysql_query("DELETE FROM roster WHERE id='$del'");

If don't want to learn why SQL injections are so dangerous just yet, fine... just make it a golden rule to use mysql_real_escape_string on ALL data that's about to be part of a MySQL query.

Stop doing that right NOW!Security is not something to be "bolted on" to something. You need to learn about the different security threats as they interfere with what you're doing.There are many things you don't need to worry about, but MySQL injection isn't one of them.How much of a pain is to just learn to use:
$del = mysql_real_escape_string($_GET['delete']);mysql_query("DELETE FROM roster WHERE id='$del'");