tool to convert html site to css?

htmlnewbie23

I have a very large site created over a decade ago entirely with html 3. It contains a little JavaScript code and several php search engines. Works fine in all browsers.I would like to convert it to css which I am just starting to learn mainly for ease of maintenance.Is there a tool that will help with this or is it a matter of re-writing all these pages over again.If no tool is available are there some tips, shortcuts, or advice on how to proceed?Is there any reason to change any of the html code to xhtml?If the site works fine, is there a really good reason to convert it to css?Thanks.