UPDATE using data from another table

Guest Lin D

I'm just learning SQL, and in my usual fashion, I'm trying something beyond what's listed in tutorials. Two tables, autograph_subjects, lins_auto_subjectslins_auto_subjects has amended data to be put into autograph_subjects. lins_auto_subjects has about a third the number of entries as autograph_subjectsData in both tables changes regularly.For every subject_id entry in lins_auto_subjects, find the matching subject_id entry in autograph_subjects, and change the data in field subject_name based on the data in the field lins_auto_subjects:changes. Rinse RepeatI tried:UPDATE autograph_subjects SET subject_name=lins_auto_subjects.changes WHERE subject_id=lins_auto_subjects.subject_idgetting error message:Unknown column 'lins_auto_subjects.subject_id' in 'where clause'I read a lot of tutorials on other commands, but can't recognize one that seems to do what I need. I can spend days trying to figure this out for myself, but I need to deliver continually/repeatedly updated data quickly. I can also drop the data into an Excel spreadsheet, and manually make the changes. Done that a couple of times, and now want to automate. And while we're at it, I need to delete entries in autograph_subjects based on data in auto_subject_deletes table, field: subject_id in both tables. For every entry in auto_subject_deletes, delete matching entry in autograph_subjects. I can create a huge string with the subject_id list in it, because any changes will only be additions to the string, which will work, but that strikes me as using a pile driver where a sledge hammer will work. Thank you.Lin