Trying to encode É with maddening results

Guest xoc

Hello all,I am trying to encode É (Capital E with an accent) into an CDATA description for a Flash site I am constructing, and I keep running into a wall trying to get it to appear.I've scoured the net for a solution, and I've found a lot of articles describing technically how it works in hex code but no article actually describing what I am supposed to write into my XML document. I know the hex code for this character but not sure how to break down my XML file into hex so I can add it in (for if that works - I am a noob).I am using UTF-8 encoding:<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>This is the code. L'ORÉAL needs the É character (noted in bold):<work> <title><![CDATA[<font color="#999900">ESSIE</font><br>L'OREAL USA]]></title> <description> <![CDATA[MEET ESSIE. AN ICONIC BRAND AND AN ICONIC PERSONALITY. THIS POSITIONING VIDEO INTRODUCES ESSIE, AS HER EPONYMOUS BRAND IS ACQUIRED BY L'OREAL USA.]]> </description> <code>ess</code><padd></padd> <add1>ess1</add1> <add2></add2> <add3></add3> <weblink></weblink> <video>video/ess.flv</video> <category></category></work>I have tried all of these to encode the É into my document:& # 2 0 1 ; (shows nothing, obviously no spaces, I did that to keep it from converting)É (appears literally as that text)É (appears literally as that text)And just to be stupid:É (shows nothing)Someone also wrote that you can do the letter to be accented (E) in this case, followed by ´, which I tried - no dice (appears literally as that text)Sorry if this is an amateurish question - thanks for your help!