include variable file name

frazto

Hi there!Now bear with me as i am a total amateur when it comes to PHP...I currently use a bit of script to randomly select an image from an array on refresh and this works fine;<?php $imagearray=file('backgrounds.inc.php'); $imagenum=rand(0,count($imagearray)-1);?><style type="text/css">#image {position: relative;top: 150px;left: 0px;margin: 0px;width: 800px;height: 400px;background : url(<?php echo $imagearray[$imagenum];?>) #FFFFFF repeat;}</style>What I would like to do however is match the image to some text which describes it eg;if ( $imagearray[$imagenum] == "images/bg.jpg" ) include ("info.html");BUT I would like not to have to type out a list of every possible eventuality ie bg1, bg2, bg3, bg4 etc... Instead it would match the number of the info.html file to the number of the bg.jpg file.Also, currently the echo $imagearray[$imagenum] command echos: images/bg.jpg, but I can't get $imagearray[$imagenum] to equal images/bg.jpg.Any help on this would be greatly appreciated.I hope it makes sense.

hi frazto....the file_get_contents ( string $filename [, bool $use_include_path = false [, resource $context [, int $offset = -1 [, int $maxlen ]]]] ) function as far as i know might suit you better using the FILE_USE_INCLUDE_PATH flag (and according to the documentation on php.net for php 5) - it however only returns the files contents as a string. you would thus need to explode ( string $delimiter , string $string [, int $limit ] ) that string by delimiter - eg "\r\n" in order to have it as an array such as you expect :) i used this function to read and write the database connection include's contents in an admin site i am working on... :)

$imagearray = explode('\r\n',file_get_contents('backgrounds.inc.php', FILE_USE_INCLUDE_PATH));