Download xml files from server as a zipped file

centaur

Hello everyone,I am new to using Javascript/AJAX.I am developing a web based application where I prompt the used to download some xml files(through a button) from the server. I want the files to be downloaded as a single zip file. Can you drop some hints how I can do this? I have used AJAX to establish connection with the server and want to write a javascript code to do the above task.Thanks in advance..!!!Have a nice day!!! :)--Centaur

Let's clarify what you mean by download.A common AJAX task is to request XML data and turn it into an XML Document Object which can then be read and manipulated using DOM methods. Is that what you mean? If it is, I'm unaware of a way for JavaScript to unzip a file, and I doubt it will happen automatically. I could be wrong, though.Or do you want to download a file in a way that prompts the user to save the file? If this is the case, the real work will take place on your server. What server-side language are you using? How well can you use it?

Let's clarify what you mean by download.A common AJAX task is to request XML data and turn it into an XML Document Object which can then be read and manipulated using DOM methods. Is that what you mean? If it is, I'm unaware of a way for JavaScript to unzip a file, and I doubt it will happen automatically. I could be wrong, though.Or do you want to download a file in a way that prompts the user to save the file? If this is the case, the real work will take place on your server. What server-side language are you using? How well can you use it?