asp.net database file types

richinslc

I am a little hesitant to post here, but I belive someone here will easily know the answer to this. I am not a programmer but I am trying to educate myself so that I can spec something properly.There is an example on the W3 site in the asp.net section under the heading asp.net / asp.net examples / Database connection - Bind to a DataList control.This is the code:<%@ Import Namespace="System.Data.OleDb" %><script runat="server">sub Page_Loaddim dbconn,sql,dbcomm,dbreaddbconn=New OleDbConnection("Provider=Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0;data source=" & server.mappath("/db/northwind.mdb"))dbconn.Open()sql="SELECT * FROM customers"dbcomm=New OleDbCommand(sql,dbconn)dbread=dbcomm.ExecuteReader()customers.DataSource=dbreadcustomers.DataBind()dbread.Close()dbconn.Close()end sub</script><html><body><form runat="server"><asp:DataListid="customers"runat="server"cellpadding="2"cellspacing="2"borderstyle="inset"backcolor="#e8e8e8"width="100%"headerstyle-font-name="Verdana"headerstyle-font-size="12pt"headerstyle-horizontalalign="center"headerstyle-font-bold="True"itemstyle-backcolor="#778899"itemstyle-forecolor="#ffffff"footerstyle-font-size="9pt"footerstyle-font-italic="True"><HeaderTemplate>Customers Table</HeaderTemplate><ItemTemplate><%#Container.DataItem("companyname")%> in<%#Container.DataItem("address")%>, <%#Container.DataItem("city")%></ItemTemplate><FooterTemplate>Source: Northwind Database</FooterTemplate></asp:DataList></form></body></html>This statement from the example above identifies the database file.dbconn=New OleDbConnection("Provider=Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0;data source=" & server.mappath("/db/northwind.mdb") My question is this - What database file types can be used. In particular, can the old dbase file type - .dbf - be used as the database file?I don't know if this is appropriate here, but I also would like to find someone I could pay to program a fairly simple website using asp.net for our industrial electrical products comp