PEAR (HTTP/1.1 410 Gone)

Man In Tan

Hmmm .... I am new to PEAR, and I'm trying to install a BB code parser. When I tell PEAR to install the package, it gets a 410 error from the PEAR server.

TanServer:~ X$ pear install HTML_BBCodeParserHTTP error, got response: HTTP/1.1 410 GoneDidn't receive 200 OK from remote server. (HTTP/1.1 410 Gone)
It gets a similar response when I tell it to upgrade itself.
TanServer:~ X$ pear upgrade pearHTTP error, got response: HTTP/1.1 410 GoneDidn't receive 200 OK from remote server. (HTTP/1.1 410 Gone)
Is there anything I can do about this? If it makes a difference, the following are what I have pre-installed:
TanServer:~ X$ pear listInstalled packages:===================Package Version State Archive_Tar 1.1 stable Console_Getopt 1.2 stable DB 1.6.2 stable HTTP 1.2.2 stable Mail 1.1.3 stable Net_SMTP 1.2.6 stable Net_Socket 1.0.1 stable PEAR 1.3.2 stable XML_Parser 1.0.1 stable XML_RPC 1.1.0 stable

Your PEAR installer version seems to be very old... the latest stable one is 1.9.1. All URLs, including that of the PEAR installer itself, seem to have been updated.Newer versions of PHP include a more recent version of the PEAR installer, so if you can get, say, PHP 5.3.5, you'll have if not the latest PEAR installer, at least one that can be easily upgraded to the latest one.

I can't afford to reinstall my PHP. It's built into my operating system (Mac OS X 10.4), so I don't think I can remove it. If I install a newer version, I'll still have the old version taking up space. My hard drive is old, and only holds 20 GB, half of which is taken up by formatting, system files, and the operating system itself. Is there a way to edit the PEAR PHP files in "/usr/lib/php/pear/" to point to the correct URLs long enough to have PEAR update itself (or upgrade PHP without deleting and reinstalling it)?

I didn't know Mac OS X includes PHP... is anything dependant on it? If not, you can simply delete your PHP folder and install the newer one.