how to compare 2 xml files using xslt

kirangentlebreeze1987

Hello experts, i am kinda new to xslt and stuff, i wanted to know how to compare two xml files using xsltthis is my file1.xml<xml><employeedetails><employee><empname>kiran</empname><empid>1231</empname><emploc>chennai</emploc></employee><employee><empname>kumar</empname><empid>1232</empname><emploc>chennai</emploc></employee></employeedetails></xml>this is my file2.xml<xml><employeedetails><employee><empid>1231</empid><empid>1232</empid><empid>1233</empid></employee></employeedetails></xml>can i use like this <xsl:if test="document('file2.xml')/employeedetails/employee/empid=document(file1.xml)/employeedetails/employee/empid">is this the correct approach i am new to this xslt stuff any help is very much appreciatedthank you

Rename "xml" to something else. "xml" is a reserved prefix of node names in XML.As for the comparrison... if the idea is to compare the empid to the empid in the other document, then yes, you're on the right track. You just need to account for the root element (currently called "xml"), and enclose the two subqueries in string() to separate them. Oh, and file1.xml needs to be with quotes... so:

<xsl:if test="string(document('file2.xml')/*/employeedetails/employee/empid) = string(document('file1.xml')/*/employeedetails/employee/empid)">

Rename "xml" to something else. "xml" is a reserved prefix of node names in XML.As for the comparrison... if the idea is to compare the empid to the empid in the other document, then yes, you're on the right track. You just need to account for the root element (currently called "xml"), and enclose the two subqueries in string() to separate them. Oh, and file1.xml needs to be with quotes... so:
<xsl:if test="string(document('file2.xml')/*/employeedetails/employee/empid) = string(document('file1.xml')/*/employeedetails/employee/empid)">