how to count the number of Elements

marmachine

Hi all,I'm new to javascript, so i came accross "the next new thing"...I have a form, dynamicly build by a php script, containing one or several textfields with a name/id like "BESTELLING[sUBTOTAAL][#]" where the # is a unique number, in a range starting at 1. Also there is a hiddenfield with the name/id "regels" which holds the exact number of fields, if this field has value 3, there are 3 textfields numbered from 1 to 3.Now what i want to do is to write the total amount from all these textfields with the following code, though.. there must be something wrong here?

<script type="text/javascript">var regels=document.getElementById("regels").value;var total=0;	  for (var i=0;i<regels;i++)  {  var subtotaal = (document.getElementById("BESTELLING[SUBTOTAAL][" + i + "]").value);  var total = (total += subtotaal);  }document.write("total: " + total);</script>

You shouldn't use the var keyword inside a loop. It redeclares the variable. The var keyword brings a variable into existence. If you use it more than once on the same variable it doesn't make sense.Just to be save, I'd make sure that your value is actually a number before operating with it.

var subtotaal,total = 0;for (var i=0;i<regels;i++) {  subtotaal = Number(document.getElementById("BESTELLING[SUBTOTAAL][" + i + "]").value);  total += subtotaal;}

You don't need parenthesis around the expressions that follow an =. And the += already takes care of putting the summed value to the left of the operator so you don't need to assign it to the variable again.

You shouldn't use the var keyword inside a loop. It redeclares the variable. The var keyword brings a variable into existence. If you use it more than once on the same variable it doesn't make sense.Just to be save, I'd make sure that your value is actually a number before operating with it.