Web Images + Backgrounds

zachruss92

I Have a few issues regarding images. First of all, im creating a website for a friend Philadelphia Entertainment and he wants me to use this image as a background. When i put it as the background of the container, it loads super-slow. I can see that it's 7+ MBs JPEG so that can be a partial explanation. I want to know if i can do anything to make the image load better? I would like to see It load faster.The next thing I would really like to learn more about the graphic element of web design. I am currently a high school student and have no hope to be able to afford photoshop anytime soon, but I have GIMP and i know that works pretty well. If I could get a recommendation as to an image editor to use, and where a good tutorial for them is?Lastly, i would like to know more about image sprites. I know that w3schools has a little information about them, but i would like to know more about them, because im a little confused as far as they work in practical application.Thanks In advance for everyone's help, i really appreciate it