Advice For Users With Massive Databases

MrFish

As a developer I get very excited when I see something working at it's maximum performance. If you are new to SQL databases here is a little trick for increasing performance if you ever have a large amount of entries. The trick is called Indexing. I've personally known about this but never had the opportunity to test it on a large scale.Firstly, I have a table of 2,145,660 entries. No matter how complicated of a search I throw at it, everything comes up within millionths of a second.bigdb.pngPrimarily with this databases I will be search latitude and longitude information to get County, State, and Region information. If I wanted all the locations within a broad area I would try something like this-Query

SELECT * FROM world WHERE latitude > '33.0224' AND latitude < '54.5323131523' AND longitude < '-96.294342' AND longitude > '-101.7.32144'