For how long have you been programming?

chokk

It's a hobby and a living. It's a craft and an art. I've been programming professionally for around 9 or 10 years, I got my degree in 2003 but was working prior to graduating. I started classes in 1998.

Hobby and supplementary income. (I have a full-time job doing other stuff.)I started programming when I was about 14, in 1977 or so. BASIC, the ancestor of VB, was the language I used. I dropped it for a while. When I got my first PC in 1989 I picked it up again. All MS-DOS systems came with BASIC built in, and a lot of software companies got their start writing code in BASIC. Then I learned C. Because I work at a college, I had Internet before there was even WWW: email, ftp, gopher. When HTML went live, I jumped on it. This was 1992-93 or so. Since then, I've just stayed on top of new developments.

Got to agree with JSG. It's both a hobby and a living. I've only been doing it as a career for about 2 years, but I've been programming for fun for about 5 or 6 years now. Problem is, I don't have a lot of time for the personal, hobbyist programming anymore......I've been working on a dairy herd management application for the last 2 or 3 years. :)