counting elements in class

Bogey

hey hey,I want to run a javascript, but this function has to loop several times (as much a there are elements in a class)...How can I count the number of items in a particular class?And is it wise to use Java? cause Java can be disabled!!! Is it more wise, to go around Java and try it on a different way?

i think you mean Javascript, there is a difference.i don't know if there are more advanced methods to do what you want, but to get the 'count' it's

var get_elem=getElementsByClassName('yourclassname')var count=get_elem.length;
just FYI, i'm also a beginner, so i hope that's correct !! :)

Thnx ShadowMage... now it works perfectly... also in older version of IE :)One more thing:I have a .CSS-file in which I use .classname:hover to change the color of the buttons, when hovering the mouse over...When I reload my page, it works fine!!!When I push a button, then I go to a javascript file (onmouseclick) en run the script, to change the colors of the buttons...After that, the :hover effect isnt working anymore... how can I get it done so the hover effect still active? Do I need te reload the css. file or so?Hope I make myself clear?

When I push a button, then I go to a javascript file (onmouseclick) en run the script, to change the colors of the buttons...After that, the :hover effect isnt working anymore... how can I get it done so the hover effect still active? Do I need te reload the css. file or so?Hope I make myself clear?
I assume you're modifying the style attribute (ie, button.style.color = 'red') and the style attribute is the same as adding inline styles to the HTML tag itself (like, <input type='button' style='color: red;' />). Since inline styles override those set in embedded or external stylesheets, I think that's why you no longer see the hover effect from your stylesheet.What exactly is the purpose of changing the colors in the script? Is it a theme picker? Or does it serve some other purpose?