what topics not to study in js

zedjr

Am new to javascript and the book i am studying now is 7 years old. There are certain topics i guess that owuld be a waste to study adn learn. LIke grames it seems is a waste. ill write some down which i think are a waste.1. working with style sheets- a waste cause css does all this2.using windows and frames- seems like a wastejsut 2 it seems to me so far that would be a waste to learn. If any others please let me knowthanks

1. working with style sheets- a waste cause css does all this
Style sheets and CSS are the same thing. If this is a Javascript book, then that topic will teach you how to change an element's classes and styles, or how to modify stylesheet information, using Javascript.
2.using windows and frames- seems like a waste
Frames aren't in wide use any more, but everything still happens in a window.

3. navigation trees using javascript - seems like a waste as css adn html do all that and unobtrusiveness sais u wouldnt use js for nav trees right?

If you just want a static, unchanging menu, then yeah, you don't need Javascript. Of course, most of the time teachers are trying to teach specific concepts, they use a general example to do so. The book may use navigation as an example, but maybe it's really trying to teach the concepts of working with trees in general, or nested arrays, or animation, or whatever else. It's up to you whether you want to go through those lessons or not.