Php Solution Similar To Iframe

gdust26

I am brand new to PHP and I've started my first php website! I am really excited and things have been going smoothly as of now. The problem that I am having is I want to create a portfolio page that will be easy to update and add to in the future. I've looked around and found information about iFrames, but I've heard they're not the best practice or a great solution. I want to do it all in PHP if possible, but I guess the idea would be similar to iFrames - when the link is clicked in the left navigation, then it will load that php include on the right. Here's what what's on my portfolio page:- I have a left sidebar navigation (portfolioNav.php).- I have the project file on the right side as an include as well.- I have all the includes (header.php, footer.php, portfolioNav.php, etc) in the main page called portfolio.php. My site:http://ginadust.com/test/portfolio.php Is there a way to link to the different php files in one <a href>? What is the solution? I would really appreciate any help on this, I seem to be at a loss. Thanks in advance!

It's just like any other HTML link. It doesn't matter that it goes to a PHP file. PHP is just a way to send dynamic HTML to the browser (in the simplest definition). The include files are one way that PHP can pull in HTML from different sources, but the end result that the browser sees is a single HTML document. If your question is about changing part of the page but not refreshing the entire thing, you need to use ajax to send the request for the new content and have it update the page. The w3schools site has ajax tutorials if you want to look at those.