How Would Your Write This If Statement Using Php?

Phreekster

On my database I have multiple records of farmers. Each farmer can plant apples or oranges. I want my if statement to output if they plant both, one or the other or neither.

if ($croptype == "apples" or $croptype == "oranges")	 {   	echo "<b>You plant .$croptype.</b><p />";	    } elseif ($croptype == "apples" && $croptype == "oranges")	 {   	echo "<b>You plant both types.</b><p />";	    } else($croptype != "apples" or $croptype != "oranges")	 {   	echo "<b>You plant both types.</b><p />";	    }

That is what I have come up with but it does not do what I want. Is there a way to do this using if/else statements? I am probably going about this completely the wrong way too but I am a novice when it comes to PHP. Any help is appreciated. Thank you.

well, what it really comes down to is how you get $croptype back from the database. How would you record it in the DB that they plant both? Would it return "both"? What would be the best way is to make a table of crops, and then make a lookup table that creates a record for every farmer, and for every crop he grows. For now though, it it's just easier to have it return "both", "none", or a crop, you could do this:

echo "You grow" . $croptype;

well, what it really comes down to is how you get $croptype back from the database. How would you record it in the DB that they plant both? Would it return "both"? What would be the best way is to make a table of crops, and then make a lookup table that creates a record for every farmer, and for every crop he grows. For now though, it it's just easier to have it return "both", "none", or a crop, you could do this:
echo "You grow" . $croptype;

The croptype variable is called here I believe:
while ($dkROWrecord2  = mysql_fetch_array($dkResultSet2,MYSQL_BOTH))   {  $countIt=$countIt+1;        $name=$dkROWrecord2['name'];   $number=$dkROWrecord2['number'];  $city=$dkROWrecord2['city'];     $croptype=$dkROWrecord2['croptype'];