Php Mysql And Reserved Xml Name Errors

dafunder

Hello world, I am new to XML and learning how to do XML on PHP, using data extracted from MySQL databases. My purpose is to make articles portable between pages of my website and manipulable in different situations. I use an editor to write articles, which are stored in a MySQL database. So far everything seems fine except the Reserved XML Name errors, which are rather annoying. A short sample is given as follows. The sample can be parsed and displayed properly, but it is always followed by Reserved XML Name at line **. This error disappears when the data are read from XML files. Because the server in use does not allow me to write into its HD, I cannot write data into XML files. Instead I have to write them into the database, which is hosted by another server. This error does not exist, when I use simpleXML to process the data, but simpleXML cannot handle complicated structure, like the tag <emphasis> in the sample must be displayed in italic within the paragraph (I apologise if I was wrong about simpleXML). Therefore, I use expat to parse the data. I have tried several possibilities, like changing tag names, removing blank lines, etc. None has worked. XML validators are not helpful, either, because the XML files always pass validation. The problem is in extracting data from the database. According to the line number in the error message, the problem seems to be at the end of the string. This makes me wonder maybe I have made mistakes in handling the string? Can someone help me please? Data in XML format from MySQL<?xml version="1.0"?><article><subject>Greece crisis</subject><category>politics</category><content><paragraph>Greek PM <emphasis>George Papandreou</emphasis> has said he is ready to drop a proposed referendum</paragraph></content></article> PHP extracting data from database include 'config.php'; $query = $_GET['sn']; $result = mysql_query("SELECT blog_sn, blog_time, blog_article FROM blogpost WHERE blog_s