Create Table From Left Join Select Query

mtht

Hi, I'm new to MySQL and can't seem to find the answer to a, i hope, rather simple question. Select * from t1left join t2on t1.field = t2.field Can i get this result into a new table?Or can i update t1? Any help on how to get about this issue would be very much appreciated!!!

did you try runing the query?join does not allow wild card (*)

Can i get this result into a new table?
you can insert the result in another table but you have to create that table first. and all column should match the data type also.
can i update t1?
you can use the joined tables as you did with other tables. join just show the tables depending on a condition. t1 and t2 table can be updatded.

Thanks for your reply!! Actually it runs fine with * but maybe that's because i'm in Navicat. So i'd alter the first table: ALTER TABLE t1ADD COLUMN t1.field1 VARCHAR (255), t1.field2 VARCHAR (255) right? and then i'd like to put t2.fieldB into t1.fieldB and t2.fieldC into t1.fieldC where t1.fieldA = t2.fieldA But how should i write this down Thank you for your time to help a noob!

So add 2 columns to t1 like the ones in t2 and then put them into t1 like: ALTER TABLE t1ADD COLUMN t1.fieldB VARCHAR (255), t1.fieldC VARCHAR (255)UPDATE t1SET t1.fieldB = t2.fieldB, t1.fieldC = t2.fieldCWHERE t1.fieldA = t2.fieldA ?

Are the two tables tied together via keys or are they 2 unrelated tables? Can the values in t1.fieldA be repeated in the t1 table or are they unique? If they are unique ids then something like this should work: update t1 set t1.B=t2.B,t1.C=t2.Cfrom dbo.Test_Table_1 as t1 join dbo.Test_Table_2 as t2 on t1.A=t2.A where t1.A=t2.A Can you post some of the values from each table so we have a better idea? I am kind of new also and am trying to learn as well...