Help needed to modify existing wordpress theme menu

mistados

Hi guys, I am trying to customize the menu of the wordpress theme "Mingle"http://themeforest.n..._preview/235056 I have replaced the existing graphic behind the text links with a simple 990px menu bar, what i would like help with now is adding the buttons that sit behind the text link, but over the menu bar, and the hover state to those buttons. Here are the graphics im using: mm-bg.png (graphic behind the text links)157j4ih.jpg mb-default.png (button to sit behind the menu links)ip0cpf.jpg mb-hover (button to use on hover)2vile12.jpg Here is an example of what i would like the finished job to look like:xd5afq.jpg Im new to all this, but i think if i understand right, what i need to do is have some kind of border around menu text items and display that as block, the same size as my button graphic, and somehow have my graphic sit behind the text link and then apply a hover state? Im pretty new to all this, would a guru be kind enough to help me out with this? Here is our site: proaudioheadz.com i also have a test site at proaudioheadz.com/dev Any help is much appreciated..

you would have to adjust the styling of

.slideMenu ul li a {	border-radius: 4px 4px 4px 4px;	color: #B9BBBE;	display: block;	line-height: 1;	margin: 2px 0;	padding: 6px 13px 9px;	text-shadow: 0 -1px 0 rgba(0, 0, 0, 0.75);}

to take the background image, the border radius, line-height can go completely, a width and height is required to hold the image, margin, padding will need adjusting, you also should use a sprite image of the button where default image is placed on top of the hover so only one image of both is required instead of to individual image, but the css height will be set to the height of single button.

Thanks dsoneuk, Ok so i have made an image sprite of the menu button, the two different states, normal and hover..dws0zo.jpg What is the first step i need to do to get this ball rolling? Many thanks.

Edited by mustard