Looking for advice for 2 issues

bnd10706

First off I want to state, that I am not really sure where to put this topic. So I apoligize if its in the wrong spot, and maybe someone can point me to a better place to post. Ok. I have 2 issues, that I am looking to fix. I currently work in a government office and I manage the internal website. This internal website is the central hub on our intranet where everyone goes to get data. We store everything from links to certain pdfs, to excel documents, to website links. Really its just a hub that makes it eaiser for people to pass information. Before I took over a few months ago everything was done in publisher. now my web design background is all self taught, and I consider myself a begineer. I know CSS/HTML and javascript fairly well. The internal website is on our server. The issue with out server is that its government controlled. I cannot add, remove edit do anything but store my files on it. its governed and controlled by people in DC and you cannot just call and say "hey do this". On that note, no exe files, or anything else can be loaded. We are forced to use what we are given. That being said, We ALL use IE6. Sucks I know, but its what I have to work with. Our internal website works ok. I just want it to be better. Here is what im looking to do. 1. I want to develop a phone database. The biggest request I get from the 500 or so employees in my building that uses this internal page is they are tired of using the printed excel phone book and they want to be able to go to the website and just type in a name / business and it display the results. Ok great. If i had my own server I would use php, mysql and wayla have a nice phone book. The server i am 95% sure does not use Apache, or support php or sql. I cannot open a php file in IE so im pretty sure no php support. Right now, I have created a really nice javascript live search with CSS "contact cards" its pretty nice, as you type it narrows the results down. The BIGGE