Need help, I know it's probably javascript but I can't find any clues to how

Havoc10K

So, i'm trying to make a website but I am fairly new to this and I can't find what I'm looking for, I probably seen reference but i don't know well enough to know if I was looking at the right thing. I'll explain what I intend to do: Mainly I want to work on divs, I used to work with tables but they annoyed the ###### out of me so I learned divs and am in awe. Anyways, this is the basic layout of the site: <body><div class="container"> <div class="side_menu">button 1 button 2 button 3 etc</div> <div class="content">on click on button 1-3(+) display content</div> <div class="footer"></div> </div> </body> What I want to do is allow the user to view the links sites in the content without reloading the entire thing (site) So basically I want the user to be able to simply click on the menu button and the "content" displays what's in the link (a gallery or some other stuff) I know it's related to java script but I can't find anything to help me.

Edited by Havoc10K
  • Like 1

Not exactly what I want, I am aware of this one. What I want is left side menu directing clicks into the right content window Tabs will make it look exactly what I don't want it to be like, I don't want a header menu but a side menu http://img808.images...3/examplets.jpg Edited by Havoc10K

What if you simply used .innerHTML to load an entire div worth of stuff? That would be very straightforward but I don't know how long a javascript string can be or how slow the loading process would be. Or what about the css style display:none ? I've never messed with it.

Edited by davej