Web Services Tutorial

davej

I think someone should consider re-writing the web services tutorial example. What is needed is an example that accesses some data that is elsewhere on the web or on the server. The current example is just a simple calculation that javascript or even pencil and paper could provide. I am just getting into this topic and certainly am not looking for something that I could do in JS. I want to exchange data with the server. http://www.w3schools.com/webservices/default.asp

• Like 1

What is needed is an example that accesses some data that is elsewhere on the web or on the server.
That's not really the scope of that example, the code in those functions isn't what they are trying to illustrate. You can add whatever functions you want to a web service and make them do anything you need them to, but that isn't part of the web services example. The example only shows how to set up a web service in ASP.net, and then one way to use the web service and call the functions. If you want to learn how to access data from a database or from the internet then there are other tutorials that teach things like that.

Well, to me a good example demonstrates the usefulness of something. Isn't there any easy way for it to provide at least a tidbit of data from the server?

Of course there is, those examples are found in the sections on how to use databases, or the filesystem, etc. Instead of having a function return the result of a calculation it could return data from a database or file or whatever else. I don't know if there's a reason to add that information to the web services examples, they probably don't want to confuse people trying to learn about web services who don't know how to use a database or whatever else.

It's probably also worth pointing out that since that tutorial uses ASP.net as the example...