MySQL TIME Echo Issue

ashleysmithd

Hi, I'm new to MySQL and PHP so please excuse my ignorance, but I'm having difficulty echoing a MySQL query that consists of adding and subtracting information in the TIME format. My code is as follows:

$result = mysql_query("SELECT Title, StartTimeHMS, StartTimeHMS + AssetOutHMS - AssetInHMS FROM scheduleINNER JOIN assetON asset.Asset_ID = schedule.Asset_IDWHERE StartTimeHMS < CURTIME()AND (StartTimeHMS + AssetOutHMS - AssetInHMS) > CURTIME()")or die(mysql_error()); $row = mysql_fetch_array( $result );echo $row['Title'];echo "<font color=#FFFFFF size=3 face=Arial><br><i>".$row['StartTimeHMS']." - ".$row['StartTimeHMS + AssetOutHMS - AssetInHMS'];

The problem occurs when echoing the calculation of the three pieces of TIME data,

$row['StartTimeHMS + AssetOutHMS - AssetInHMS'];

, where the echo displays the TIME data in the form 'HHMMSS', as opposed to 'HH:MM:SS' (with colons.) I've tried using different datatypes, including TIMESTAMP, but to no avail. The calculation works fine, it's just not displaying the data how I want it to. It only happens when I perform a calculation, when I echo the data otherwise it displays in the correct form. I'm sure it's something simple, but I've had a Google around but haven't found anything that works. Any help would be appreciated. Thank you.

It may make it easier to use an alias for that field in the result: $result = mysql_query("SELECT Title, StartTimeHMS, StartTimeHMS + AssetOutHMS - AssetInHMS AS EndTime FROM schedule... Then you can refer to $row['EndTime'] instead of using the entire calculation. To add the colons you can use str_split and implode: echo implode(':', str_split($row['EndTime'], 2));