I might be a newbie...

TeaseM

Hi. If anyone would care to enlighten me I would be real happy. I just started to study php/mysql and found the turorial on w3schools.com.I follow the tutorial for learning purposes of course but here is my problem. Even if I copy/paste the code fromw3schools.com php tutorial I can't get thescript to create tables or columns my mysql database. I set up my wamp server using a book and double checked it with other tutorials onlineand it should work fine. I can't figure out why I can't get the php script to communicate withmysql. Any help, tips and tricks would be appriciated. As I mentioned in the topic I am new to this. I know HTML, CSS and to some extent Javascript. Please help. /T

which scripts did you test? can you post the link? genraly you need to create database and tables from phpmyadmin and then use php to pull and push data inside it.if you have come up any code ,posting would be helpfull too.

I used the one where you set up a HTML form and then use a php script to INSERT INTO the sql database. The problem is that my php wont communicate with my sql server. I also tried to getthe php to CREATE DATABASE (wich worked), CREATE TABLE (wich wont work).

ok. what happened when you ran it? does it show any errors ? i can see the insert example does not have any debugging code. you can check mysql_query() return value that if it successfull or not. if failed echo the reason using mysql_error() $res=mysql_query("INSERT INTO Persons (FirstName, LastName, Age)VALUES ('Peter', 'Griffin',35)"); if(!$res)echo mysql_error(); http://php.net/mysql_error

Edited by birbal

i updated my post above. did you see it?

Yes. I tried it and it says I have a problem with my syntax and to chek the reference on my sql version... I don't see where the syntax would fail even when I check the reference though. I use MySQL 5.5.20. The syntax that is causing the problem is after the VALUES or SET statement.

Edited by TeaseM

can you post your updated code?