Delete from DB problem

StateRd84

I am still very new to php, so keep this in mind. This example comes from a tutorial. I have a database with two tables: categories table; 2 fields: `id` and `name`.posts table; 5 fields: `id`, `cat_id`, `title`, `content` and `post_date`. If I have a post entered that uses, for example, category id: 3, name: fun. I then delete that category from the categories table. The post remains with the cat_id of 3 (since it's relational). Since the id column in the categories table is auto-increment the id of 3 is never used again, so does not exist in the categories table. The problem is that that record cannot be accessed with the current code.

Please post your code and tell us how you need to access your tables.

If i understand your problem correctly...You are wanting to delete the posts that were with the category you just deleted, no?So just have two queries, (granted I don't know how you are telling the server/database which category to delete):

$id = $_GET['id'];$query = "DELETE FROM categories WHERE id = $id";$resultSet = mysql_query($query,$connection);$query2 = "DELETE FROM posts WHERE cat_id = $id";$resultSet2 = mysql_query($query,$connection);

That code is assuming you are getting the id of the category from a link.But that will delete the category, then delete any posts associated with that category.

Edited by Krewe

I would like to be able to show the post that no longer has a related category. Remember that the id in the categories table no longer exists, however the related cat_id in the posts table is still there. Here is the relevent code the first is the function used to get the posts: