templates, master file?

justinh

Hi all,I'm a hobby web page developer and need to re-do some simple web sites. I'm just getting into CSS and don't know if this is the right forum or even a valid question :umnik2:. Here is the basic question: Is there a way to use a 'master' page where when you click a menu link it just loads different content, while keeping the header, footer, and menu areas static? Or, is there some way to create multiple content pages that stream/link in all the status areas (via CSS maybe)? I'm asking because if I make a change to a core item (menu, header, etc) I don't want to have to edit ten pages to make them all the same. I'm guessing all these huge commercial web site admins don't have to do that :Pleased: . I'd appreciate any hints or links or info! I think 'template' may be an applicable term here, but HTML editors seem to treat templates as just another HTML file used to create a new one. I'm thinking it may also mean a live template-like thing. Thanks,Justin

You need a server-side language to do it. The most basic way in PHP is to just include the content.

<?php  // Determine what page we're on to get the title and content  // if(), switch() ... {  $title = 'Something';  $content_file = 'something.php';  // }?><!DOCTYPE html><html>    <head>	    <title><?php echo $title; ?></title>    </head>    <body>	    <!-- Put a header and a menu here -->	    <?php include $content_file; ?>	    <!-- Put a footer here -->    </body></html>

Guest So Called