alert in a php while loop SOLVED with thanks in the final post

niche

Is there a way to produce an alert while a php while loop is running? If so, what's the keyword(s) do I need to reference? I'd like to pause my script as my page is being created.

Edited by niche
  • Like 1

Guest So Called

I'm no expert on this and from your post count you're more expert than I... But it seems to me that your alert is JavaScript, and that JS and PHP are not synchronous (won't communicate with each other) unless you use AJAX techniques. You can certainly pause a PHP script but it will require a reply from the client to continue. IOW: AJAX.

I'm following you, but how do I get the php variable into the JS var when the JS is rendered in php? Script so far:

<?php$str = "Hello World";echo '<script type="text/javascript">';echo 'var str = ?????';echo 'alert(str)';echo '</script>';?>

Edited by niche

Guest So Called

You can always get variables from PHP to JS. The problem is getting the JS response back to the server side script. Focus on that. IMO you need AJAX, or at least I can't imagine any browser-to-server interaction that doesn't use that.

Thanks,but I don't need anything back in this case. I just need to display what's in a php var assigned to a JS var when the JS var is rendered in php. This displays nicely, but there's no var in it:

<?phpecho '<script type="text/javascript">';echo 'alert("Hello World")';echo '</script>';?>

how do I re-define a php var to a JS var when the JS var is being rendered in php?

<?php$str = "Hello World";echo '<script type="text/javascript">';echo 'var str = ?????';echo 'alert(str)';echo '</script>';?>

Edited by niche

Guest So Called

Okay, then that's probably simpler:

<?php$str = "Hello World";echo '<script type="text/javascript">';echo 'var str = ?????';echo 'alert(' . $str . ')';echo '</script>';?>

Thanks again, but no go. Did it display for you?

Guest So Called