Is using jQuery cheating?

toxicious

I recently started coding some javascript which is use at my site (no big complex functions) and I have also discovered jQuery.Quite often when I do different things, it all ends with me finding out how to do it in jQuery and going that way instead since in 100% of the cases it is simpler I think. I mean, it feels like a human designed jQuery and a robot designed javascript :glare: Is it bad to use jQuery all the time? Since I am not learning to use any of the native functions?

If you don't know how it could be done in Javascript, it's probably best if you don't use jQuery. jQuery isn't cheating but you won't learn anything if that's all you rely on. The problem I have with jQuery is if you're only doing something really simple and you make the client download the entire jQuery library for a basic click event or something like that. It takes extra time loading the page and extra bandwidth cost from the server.

Didn't know that Ingolme. Thanks. Now I have two good reasons to share with people that bug me to use it on projects.

Edited by niche

What? all 24 to 40kb WOW! massive bandwidth that would take up, about size of one high quality thumbnail image, once you consider the amount of code using just javascript alone compared to jquery you would save on that amount many times over.

What? all 24 to 40kb WOW! massive bandwidth that would take up, about size of one high quality thumbnail image, once you consider the amount of code using just javascript alone compared to jquery you would save on that amount many times over.