Property of non object error

afish674

I'm having some problem with my code. It says that I'm trying to get the property of a non-object on line 24. However I'm using the method for get object. So I don't really understand why it says its not an object. As you can see I have tried "fetch(PDO::FETCH_OBJ)" and "fetchObject()" to no avail. I assume these two do the same thing? I am very new to PHP.

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN"   "DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd"><html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" xml:lang="en" lang="en">  <head>    <title>Project 7-4: Building A Login Form</title>  </head>  <body>    <h2>Project 7-4: Building A Login Form</h2><?php    // if form not yet submitted    // display form    if (!isset($_POST['submit'])) {	    try{	    $pdo = new PDO('mysql:dbname=music;host=localhost','root','Rockon!');	   } catch (PDOException $e){	    die("ERROR: Could not connect: " . $e->getMessage());	   }  //Get artists  $artists = array();	   $sql = "SELECT artist_id, artist_name FROM artists";	   if ($result = $pdo->query($sql)) {	    while($row = $result->fetchObject());	   $artists[$row->artist_id] = $row->artist_name;	   }  $ratings = array();  //Get ratings  $sql = "SELECT rating_id, rating name FROM ratings";  if ($result = $pdo->query($sql)){   while($row = $result->fetch(PDO::FETCH_OBJ));	   $ratings[$row->rating_id] = $row->rating_name;  } }?>    <form method="post" action="add_songs.php">	 <label for="songName">Song Name:</label>	  <input type="text" name="songName"/>	  <label for="songArtist">Song Artist:</label>	  <select name="songArtist">	   <!--unset($pdo);-->	  </select>	  <input type="submit" name="submit" value="Add Record">	    </form>   </body></html>

Thanks for your help.

Look closely at those two lines:

while($row = $result->fetchObject());           $artists[$row->artist_id] = $row->artist_name;

If you look close enough, you'll notice the second line is NOT part of the loop.