General Advice for Content Boxes

dabwm

Hello everyone, beginner here. I was hoping to gauge some opinion on the best way to create these content boxes. The first image below shows two boxes (and their contents) which I am aiming to create in HTML/CSS. Usually I would set up the appropriate divs, and use images to avoid having to set colours, text font, border weights and the like. Then add anchors, and text as necessary. example1c.pngIs this such a good idea? Should I look to avoid using images and create the same effects (as created in Fireworks) using syntax inside the HTML/CSS? Or should I continue to use images to my hearts content? I know there is no 'correct way' to do this as both systems work, to some degree, but which do you guys think is more efficient, professional and worthwhile? After reading this back I figured it may confuse people so here's the question: To create the two boxes above would you use images, pure HTML/CSS properties to create the boxes, or a mixture of the two? As an example here's what I would usually do for Box 1: I'd create a div and add the image (below), setting the divs height and width properties to those of the image. I would then add the anchors along side the image inside the div and position them using CSS to give the 'Box 1' as on the image above. example2a.png What do we think? If you need code I'll more than happily provide. Thank you in advance. Edit: I'm asking this as it will apply to all the content boxes I deal with in the future that have a similar layout and so want to streamline how I deal with them.

Edited by dabwm

I personally use CSS as opposed to images wherever possible. Something like this code might help get you started:

<html><head> <style> .orangeBox { display: inline-block; padding: 1%; width: 48%; background-color: #ffaa00; } </style></head><body> <div class="orangeBox"> Box 1 </div> <div class="orangeBox"> Box 2 </div></body></html>

Have a play around with it and see if it helps you.